Pancha Kleshas- Five Hindrances

Also from the Yoga Sutras, five hindrances to clarity that block us from seeing things as they are.

avidya– mis-knowing, confusion, when you think you know something but you are wrong
asmita– ego – you think it’s all about you, can only see how it affects you, you think you are good or bad at something, your identity – identifying yourself with forms that are always changing
raga – desire – you like or want something,or want it to be a certain way, positive judgment
dvesha– aversion – you don’t like something, or don’t want and are afraid of getting stuck with it, or don’t want it to be a certain way, negative judgment
abhinivesha– fear of death, of the ending of things, fear in general

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s